You probably know that you have to have car insurance in the Sunshine State according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Looking for car insurance in Florida is not fun at all and it requires some effort and time if you want to get the best deal for your money. But did you know that car insurance requirements can be different from one state to another?
Here are some of the things that you should keep in mind that can be pretty useful to you:
- When you are registering your car, you have to have PIP and PDL insurance. PIP insurance will cover all of your medical expenses that arise due to an accident regardless of whose fault it is. This insurance will cover the expenses for all your family members as well and other passengers who don’t have a registered vehicle.
- The Personal Insurance Protection covers other accidents as well, for example, if you get hurt while riding your bike or crossing the street, or if your kids get hurt while they are in a school bus.
- The Bodily Injury Liability Insurance is not mandatory in Florida, however, you should consider getting it due to all the benefits that it has.
- Collision and Comprehensive car insurance are not required in the Sunshine State as well.
- You can receive a fine of $150 to $500 for not having your Florida auto insurance ID with you.
- Even if you aren’t driving the vehicle, you have to have continuous coverage. Make sure you give back your license plate before you cancel your insurance.
- If you have just moved to the Sunshine State, you can ask your agent to transfer your existing insurance to a Florida policy.
- Florida is a no-fault state. This means that everyone who is engaged in an accident should file a claim at their insurance company even when the accident is not their fault.
- If you have just moved to Florida, started working, or enrolled your children in school, your vehicle must be registered with Florida license plates and have a Florida insurance policy. You have to do this within 10 days after you start your employment, or your kids start school.
Moving out of Florida
- If you are changing countries make sure you don’t cancel your Florida insurance immediately. First, you will have to register it in the other state or surrender your plates to a Florida driver’s license office.
- You can get your license plate or driving privilege suspended if you don’t maintain your required insurance coverage throughout the whole period of registration. The suspension may last up to three years.
The Sunshine State is home to over 20 million registered vehicles, which is why you should be really careful to choose the best insurance policy that suits all of your needs.