• PHSC Names John Legg Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

    John Legg, 2017 PHSC Distinguished Alumnus

     Pasco-Hernando State College (PHSC) has named former Senator John Legg, PHSC class of 1994, as its 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient. Legg will be honored at the collegewide annual Student Activities and Distinguished Alumni Award Recognition Ceremony on Thursday, April 20 at 7 p.m. on the PHSC West Campus in New Port Richey, 10230 Ridge Road.

    Legg is the chief financial officer of DaySpring Academy, a Pasco County charter school he founded in 2000. He received an Associate in Arts degree from Pasco-Hernando State College in 1994 and transferred to the University of South Florida, Tampa, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in social work and a master’s degree in public administration.

    “John Legg is a true leader, dedicated to service of community, and passionate about education,” said Timothy Beard, Ph.D., PHSC president.

    Legg began his public service career working as a legislative aide to Florida House Representative Heather Fiorentino whom he subsequently succeeded. After serving eight years in the House, he was elected to the Florida Senate where he served from 2012 to 2016. During his time in the State Legislature he served in a number of leadership roles, most notably as Speaker Pro-Tempore of the House, Deputy Majority Leader, and Chair of the Senate Pre – K through 12 Education Committee.

    “Senator Legg worked tirelessly to improve the quality of education at all levels in Florida and was a relentless champion for the Florida College System. He was instrumental in leading the Florida Legislature to establish Collegiate High Schools and to expand access to dual enrollment for students in the districts of all 28 Florida College System institutions,” said Beard.

    Legg joins 2016 recipient Tim Moore (2010); 2015 recipient Rebecca Young (’84); 2014 recipient Diana Mattox (’88), 2013 recipient, the late Gerrie Bishop (’81), 2012 Jay Forry (’94), 2011 recipient Anita Cruz (’84), 2010 recipient Kurt Browning (’78), and 2009 recipient Lucy Morgan (’75) as PHSC’s honored distinguished alumni.

    Pasco-Hernando State College (PHSC) serves the educational needs and interests of its community by awarding certificates, diplomas, associate and baccalaureate degrees. As a comprehensive, multicampus learning-centered institution, PHSC utilizes various instructional modalities and support services. PHSC provides an accessible, diverse teaching and learning environment rich with opportunities for students to achieve academic success and cultural growth in a global society.