• National Academies of Practice Inducts Dr. Susan E. Terry

    The National Academies of Practice (NAP) is pleased to announce the election of Susan E. Terry, AuD, F-AAA, as a Distinguished Practitioner & Fellow of NAP. Dr. Terry was inducted at a gala banquet on March 18, 2017 in Philadelphia, PA. Dr. Susan Terry has been a practicing Audiologist in St. Petersburg since 1988.

    Founded in 1981, NAP is an interdisciplinary, nonprofit organization, with membership representing 14 health care professions willing to serve as distinguished advisors to health care policy makers in Congress and elsewhere. The 14 academies of practice within the NAP include:  Audiology, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Optometry, Osteopathic Medicine, Pharmacy, Physical Therapy, Podiatric Medicine, Psychology, Social Work, Speech-Language Pathology and Veterinary Medicine.

    Membership in the NAP is an honor extended to those who have excelled in their profession and are dedicated to furthering practice, scholarship and policy in support of interprofessional care. The central purpose of NAP is to advise public policy makers on health care issues using NAP’s unique perspective — that of expert practitioners and scholars joined in interdisciplinary dialogue.

    New Fellows were inducted following a forum on “Interprofessional Partnerships: Advancing Collaborative Practice, Education, Research and Policy”.

    For more information on nominating potential Fellows to the NAP, call the NAP office at 859-514-9184 or visit www.NAPractice.org.

    # # #

    The National Academies of Practice was founded in 1981 to advise governmental bodies on our health care system. It is the only interdisciplinary group of health care practitioners dedicated to these issues. Distinguished practitioners and scholars are elected by their peers from 14 different health professions. This allows public policy makers a unique option: health care policy advice from an interdisciplinary perspective – a strong collective voice. NAP is a sponsor of the National Academy of Sciences (IOM) Global Forum on Innovation in Health Professional Education.